It is currently 24 Oct 2018, 00:23

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 38 of 39   [ 763 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2018, 04:40 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quast65 wrote:
Almost… Take another look at the picture, in the middle of the bridge there should be an X.


Should call you Mr. Hawkeyes :mrgreen:

Was going to do some tunnelling today, but figuring out how to get the nice effect of the X in the Morpeth bridge took my attention. Tunnelling might have to wait till Thursday now.

Not easy getting the Morpeth Bridge to have the X especially with odd length bridges.

Even length bridges managed to make that to look more actuate.
Attachment:
Morpeth Bridge Improvements.png
Morpeth Bridge Improvements.png [ 114.46 KiB | Viewed 158 times ]


Whatcha think?

The far bridge 7 tiles long I might change that and put a lifting span there like in the Dunmore bridge .. but all photos I found of it so far does not show how the weights was used to raise the bridge. so have to wait to I find out how those weights were installed.

Unless I use same idea used at the Hinton Bridge.
Attachment:
Hinton Bridge 1910_o.jpg
Hinton Bridge 1910_o.jpg [ 363.93 KiB | Viewed 158 times ]

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2018, 08:32 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
There's a bounder in each of those white boxes near the top.
Bounder bounces box bottom = bridge lifts.
Bounder does head stand then bounces box top = bridge drops.
Bridge is closed during bounder mating season.

8-)

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2018, 11:41 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
:o Does that means there will be the same problem with the Dunmore Bridge .. even if it done more :?:

The cable wheels on top of the Dunmore bridge are placed at a different angle but imagine be same idea.
Attachment:
Dunmore 2.png
Dunmore 2.png [ 84.25 KiB | Viewed 157 times ]


The Hinton bridge is hinting that I should add the bridge raising mechanism to the Wooden Trestle Bridge as it is also based on the Hinton bridge.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 05:25 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I should be tunnelling, but the Hinton bridge been hinting so I done more to it and the Dunmore bridge.
Attachment:
Dumore Morpeth Hinton bridges.png
Dumore Morpeth Hinton bridges.png [ 8.47 KiB | Viewed 154 times ]


Far left is the Dunmore Bridge .. it is a odd extension to the next 2 which are the Morpeth Bridge.
Need to recolour the lifting span section to a grey and turn the weights and pulley wheels around so they sit on the sides of the uprights instead of the front like they is here.

2nd and 3rd from left is the Morpeth bridge.

4th and 5th are the Hinton Bridge how it will look when made a odd length and a even tile length.

Bloody computers these days suppose to be multi tasking, but dammed if I can get it to do tunnels and make bridges at same time.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 05:41 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
GarryG wrote:
Bloody computers these days suppose to be multi tasking, but dammed if I can get it to do tunnels and make bridges at same time.
Are you sure you installed the shovel app?

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 05:56 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
If I had heaps of shovels and told you to take a pick, guess you be :? :lol:

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 06:00 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
Leave my nose out of this!!! :twisted:

:lol:

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 08:32 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
No one will pick my nose for me, so I let you pick your own. :P

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 10:23 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 469
Location: The Netherlands
Those bridges look really good and that lifting span section is awesome!! :W

Is it possible to draw the pillars in for the first hight under the road surface?
So, as part of the actual bridge-graphics and not as part of the pillars.
That way you can draw the counterweights there and then can use the outer pillars for extensions for more heightlevels.
Because if you draw the counterweights as part of the pillars, those will get repeated for more heightlevels…

For the 3-tile Morpeth bridge:
There is a rather big gap between the X and the / and the \
What about this design?
Attachment:
Example507.png
Example507.png [ 9.68 KiB | Viewed 152 times ]


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 10:42 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
Quast65 wrote:
Is it possible to draw the pillars in for the first hight under the road surface?
So, as part of the actual bridge-graphics and not as part of the pillars.
That way you can draw the counterweights there and then can use the outer pillars for extensions for more heightlevels.
Yes.
The front of a bridge is drawn over everything else.
The problem will be with the pillar alignments. I'm having some thoughts here. I'll have to experiment with the code and I've a busy couple of days ahead of me so it might be the weekend before I have some results.

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 10:51 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Thanks Quast for the compliments,

Quote:
Is it possible to draw the pillars in for the first hight under the road surface?

Yep
Quote:
That way you can draw the counterweights there and then can use the outer pillars for extensions for more heightlevels.

The counter weights will be on the side of the girder work .. can just see some towards the top, which might need a bit more graphics works so can see them easier.
Quote:
For the 3-tile Morpeth bridge:
There is a rather big gap between the X and the / and the \
What about this design?

Like your idea for the sides. The pieces used for that are in this image along with what I hope the bridges will look like with the pillars.
Attachment:
Morpeth Bridge Changes-2.png
Morpeth Bridge Changes-2.png [ 8.19 KiB | Viewed 152 times ]

I think I'll put the shovel and pick back in the shed for awhile until I finish these few bridges.
Cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 10:56 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
wallyweb wrote:
The problem will be with the pillar alignments.


Wonder if can make 2 separate types of pillars .. one set to go under the centre section and another to go under rest of bridge?

Cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 11:14 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 469
Location: The Netherlands
Sorry, I was a bit confused, I thought that the part between the pillars, this one, that O-section:
Attachment:
Example508.png
Example508.png [ 14.08 KiB | Viewed 150 times ]

was part of the lifting system.
Ofcourse it isnt, the main weight is the roadsection ofcourse and the counterweights are the grey boxes on the top. Sorry about that, havent had my coffee yet :oops:

So what I meant was indeed that O-section, but that is indeed a part of the pillar-structure of the bridge.
Now I am not sure anymore if that entire section should be repeated if the bridge gets higher or just the pillars at the outer-ends…
I think its good enough to repeat, so ignore my question about the pillars for the first hight under the road surface. ;-)

With regards to the changes of Morpeth bridge.
Also note that I changed the beams over the road for that x-section.
I removed these two:
Attachment:
Example509.png
Example509.png [ 14.33 KiB | Viewed 150 times ]

So, the ones closest to the X
And replaced that with just one beam in the middle. That may look a bit better...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 11:15 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
GarryG wrote:
Wonder if can make 2 separate types of pillars .. one set to go under the centre section and another to go under rest of bridge?
This is what I will be experimenting on. Pillars have minds of their own and do funny things just to mess up our brains. Like I said, it will be the weekend before I have some results. If what I'm considering to do to the code is shown to work it will open up a whole new realm of stuff to keep you away from your tunnels for at least a year. :mrgreen:

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 11:42 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Thanks guys for helping me with this bridge ideas.

Years almost over, only be a few months before get back to tunnelling.

But then next year will be some big changes for me. will know Wednesday next week when I be going back to Philippines which I hope be sometime in January to be with my fiancée and my 3 kids and hope to stay with them a few years this time (health permitting). The trouble being I have to share my computer wit them so less time to code and draw and more time to play. ;)

Quast .. you mean like this for the roofing section.
Attachment:
Morpeth Bridge Changes-3.png
Morpeth Bridge Changes-3.png [ 4.51 KiB | Viewed 150 times ]

I'll put the fences back after.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 12:23 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 469
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
will know Wednesday next week when I be going back to Philippines which I hope be sometime in January to be with my fiancée and my 3 kids and hope to stay with them a few years this time (health permitting).

Wow! I hope everything works out fine and you can be with your family!!

Quote:
Quast .. you mean like this for the roofing section.

YES! :bowing:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 14:12 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quast65 wrote:
YES!


Good .. shall change it to this idea.

Hey Wally, can a bridge like this be made?
Attachment:
Rocky Creek Crossing-3.png
Rocky Creek Crossing-3.png [ 619.57 KiB | Viewed 149 times ]

I used to go get wet here when I worked at Craven railway Station as a signalman between 1980 and 1982.

The on off ramps need to be in reverse sloping down the slopes and make the roads water looking.

But maybe this is a job for overlap object river pieces.

Haven't see any Willow Trees in any ones sets yet, wonder how I'd go making some of them later and plant them near rivers and creeks? The fork of a Willow branches was great for making sling-shots, a bow for a archer set and using the fork shape branch as a divining rod for finding water.

Good spot also to catch a fish or two as they see to like being around the branches and leaves hanging down into the water.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2018, 16:27 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
GarryG wrote:
Hey Wally, can a bridge like this be made?
Over here we call these fords. Not really a bridge. Just a section of river that is shallow enough to drive across without getting your feet wet. I can't think of a way to do these as a bridge in the game.

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 04 Oct 2018, 00:59 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Might not get feet wet, but you do get toes wet.

We call them causeways here.

Cheers pal

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 05 Oct 2018, 04:59 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1470
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Stopped tunnelling for the moment and went back to bridging.

This roughly what the bridges should look like with the Lifting Spans.
Attachment:
Dumore Morpeth Hinton bridges2.png
Dumore Morpeth Hinton bridges2.png [ 252.77 KiB | Viewed 114 times ]

The 1st and 5th bridges will be the Morpeth Bridge.

The 2nd, 4th, 6th is the Hinton Bridge. Which is the extension to the far bridge).

The 3rd is Dunmore Bridge.

The far bridge is the Wooden Trestle Bridge which is designed from the Vacy Bridge.

Did some research and the lifting spans all was originally painted white. Later when the lifting weights and cables were removed the spans were painted grey.

Work yet to be done:

Adjust the pylons to fit more directly under the lifting spans. The Hinton Bridge see if I can change the pylons directly under the spans to same as the Dunmore bridge, but hope to leave the others wooden.

Cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 38 of 39   [ 763 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules