It is currently 15 Aug 2018, 09:51

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 33 of 33   [ 654 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 29, 30, 31, 32, 33
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 30 Jul 2018, 16:39 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 445
Location: The Netherlands
That looks really cool!
Is it possible though to draw a bit of rigging under the passable segment?
Just to make it look a bit stronger.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 30 Jul 2018, 22:16 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1369
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I should be able to do the rigging under the centre piece for one level.

I going to Paterson today to get photos of the bridge there so hope to do more to these bridges tomorrow,

Cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 31 Jul 2018, 09:09 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1369
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I did have 4 wood bridge types but could reduce it to 3.
Attachment:
3 wooden bridges-1.png
3 wooden bridges-1.png [ 55.44 KiB | Viewed 93 times ]

When bridges are made a odd length can have the Iron Plating or the Steel Girder as the odd piece that crosses rivers and roads.

The wooden trestle I not see any photos of that style of bridge with any Iron Plating ot anthing different in middle yet so not sure what good put in middle except strengthen the wood work.

I spent a few hours today at a place called Paterson taking photos of a bridge across the Paterson River and flood planes.

Love to try make this bridge as close to this as possible. Also notice that the the base of the Iron plates and the steel girders is lower than the rails so will look at doing the same with the bridges I making.

This photo the southern end. The right end piece originally was wooden, but been replaced my metal. Next bit is Iron Plating with is original and I notice the pillars are only a engine length in distance, so maybe my bridges look nice also with a centre pillar in some places.
Attachment:
Paterson1.png
Paterson1.png [ 607.63 KiB | Viewed 93 times ]

This the centre span of steel girder. (Should I put the 2 ropes in my bridge too so kids can swing out over the water?) Wonder if I should make my girder bridges a little wider and put in the walk ways?
Attachment:
Paterson2.png
Paterson2.png [ 386.02 KiB | Viewed 93 times ]

This the northern end where it crosses the flood planes.
The section left of the Iron Plating used to be wooden many years ago, but now metal.
Attachment:
Paterson4.png
Paterson4.png [ 766.47 KiB | Viewed 93 times ]


Shame when we build a bridge we can't build it in sections across the valley so can choose where we want certain pieces places.

Tomorrow I be busy seeing what I can do with these photos.

Cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2018, 07:55 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1651
Location: Hellas
Indeed.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 03 Aug 2018, 10:51 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1369
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Still collecting ideas for my bridges.

Today went to Cockle Creek and the sun was in a good angle to get photos of the girder section there with a track machine crossing.
Attachment:
Cockle Creek Bridge2.png
Cockle Creek Bridge2.png [ 265.84 KiB | Viewed 85 times ]

Notice top section of bridge has those angle beams .. so hope to try add those to my bridges.

A clip from a video I took of a DMY crossing Paterson bridge back on 31st July shows the Iron Girders and the pillars under them only the length of 1 carriage of the DMU.
Attachment:
DMU on Paterson Bridge.png
DMU on Paterson Bridge.png [ 277.4 KiB | Viewed 85 times ]

The bridge section before the Iron Plating, the pillars are a lot closer together.

So hope to do same with some of my bridges or as close as I can to those ideas.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2018, 02:52 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1369
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Had some time to spare this morning so rebuilt Hexham Bridge.

The pathway is to one side of the bridge and outside of the gantry as can be seen in this image.
Attachment:
Hexham Bridge 2.PNG
Hexham Bridge 2.PNG [ 545.27 KiB | Viewed 69 times ]

So I seeing if I can do same.
Thought I try using the default roads that come with the game for the bridges and hope it suits all road types.
Attachment:
Hexham Bridge2.png
Hexham Bridge2.png [ 99.4 KiB | Viewed 69 times ]

The one ramps need adjusting still and the pillars need redoing.

Wonder if ever this bridge can be made for the game.
Attachment:
Wisemans Ferry 1975.png
Wisemans Ferry 1975.png [ 2.34 MiB | Viewed 69 times ]

Not sure when any more work get done as be busy for a few days appointments.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2018, 07:51 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1651
Location: Hellas
I suppose whenever we get proper ferries.
And if I am not wrong it is not the first time it has been asked for.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2018, 09:00 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1369
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Might be nice to make Ferry as a Object and the on off ramps each side the river also objects.

Whether it can be animated to go from one side the river to the other?

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2018, 12:52 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1646
Location: Canada
Why reinvent the (paddle) wheel? All the ship sets have ferries. Players can't make money off of objects. [insert greedy rich guy tycoon smiley here]

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2018, 13:36 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1369
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Not seen this type in the ship sets yet, but than I never tried all the ship sets.

We used to know them as Punts and could carry 6 to 8 cars. and the buildings on one side housed the captain and a building for pedestrian passengers.

Be fun if could arrange for the vehicles we use in game to go on to a punt and be taken across the river and than continue their journey.

I off to dream world as I bugged from be at the hospital today.

Cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2018, 13:58 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1646
Location: Canada
:o You got bugs while you were at the hospital?

Both Michael Blunck's and andythenorth's ship sets have ferries.

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 08 Aug 2018, 10:08 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1651
Location: Hellas
But we do not have ferries loading 'real' vehicles.

A patch would be needed. :(
... and the magic of quast with overlapping tiles. ;)

What would be more easy? Work with ship or bridges code?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 08 Aug 2018, 11:04 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1369
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I had look in the Ship sets .. they have Ferries but no Punts :)

First I see if I can draw some object ones when I get chance and see how they look.

Wonder if they could be made to operate like the ski-lifts do .. can't remember the name of the ski lift set off hand. Just travel from one side of the river to the other and back again.

It just a dream at moment .. snowed under with other projects .. so it will go on that long list of To-Do things.

Cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Bridges
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2018, 10:50 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1369
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Went train travelling yesterday to get some more photos of some road bridges crossing railway lines.

This is Beresfield Bridge
Attachment:
Beresfield.png
Beresfield.png [ 304.86 KiB | Viewed 17 times ]


and this is High Street Bridge.
Attachment:
High Street.png
High Street.png [ 477.29 KiB | Viewed 17 times ]


And this my first go at making those bridges for the game.
Attachment:
High Street and Beresfield Bridges.png
High Street and Beresfield Bridges.png [ 51.63 KiB | Viewed 17 times ]


The High Street bridge originally had brick fencing so I put made it with brick instead of the wire mesh fence.

The High Street bridge abutments spreads out either side of the bridge .. the one at far end looked ok as they was facing. But closer end looked terrible and didn't look good as they never blended in with the slope. So maybe the style I used here will be ok.

I believe the Beresfield also had brick fence, but so far not find any old photos to prove it., but might change it to brick or Wire mesh as I think it will look better.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 33 of 33   [ 654 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 29, 30, 31, 32, 33


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules