It is currently 23 Feb 2020, 04:17

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 5   [ 93 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Quast65's Screenshots
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2015, 22:36 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 480
Location: The Netherlands
A little teaser of some work in progress.... :oops:
Attachment:
FakeAirport003.png
FakeAirport003.png [ 348.85 KiB | Viewed 4932 times ]


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2015, 23:08 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3033
Location: Sweden
New airport tiles... :) Looks brilliant... although perhaps I personally would make the numbers more bold...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 00:26 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 02 May 2013, 04:40
Posts: 18
Location: Czech republic
Yep, agree with SAC, looks great.

I would add, that apart form making the numbers bold, making the numbers rectangular

https://www.tc.gc.ca/media/images/ca-publications/figure5-2a.gif


Regards,
Ali


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 04:06 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1758
Location: Hellas
What I dislike is that it is fake. :cry:
Will we ever have a 'real' airport like this piece of art in OTTD? :cry:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 14:37 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 480
Location: The Netherlands
Thnx for all your reply's!
I will experiment with making the numbers bolder. Thnx for that very useful gif with the numbers Ali, I will see if I can "translate" that into the Openttd perspective.
@athanasios, that will take a long time... AFAIK it is very difficult to change the way aircraft move on an airport. Hopefully one day... I just hope that new graphics will inspire developers to look into that.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 15:10 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3033
Location: Sweden
Meanwhile, using eye candy to enhance the look and appearance of airports can make wonders if placed properly and with a touch of realism... I have for instance drawn control towers amongst other airport tiles to accomplish what I want... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 17:01 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 480
Location: The Netherlands
Well, I take a little different approach, I remove all buildings from excisting airports (then replace remaining graphics, like groundtiles/runways, with those that match my fake objects) and then place fake objects next to them. Just like I did in my screenshot. In the middle is an actual working airport ;-)
I think I got the numbers and letters kinda right by the way:
Attachment:
RunwayNumbersLetters.png
RunwayNumbersLetters.png [ 2.93 KiB | Viewed 4910 times ]

Still have to be textured and placed on a runway tile, but it's a start ;-)
Will show them later on in a screenshot.

If you are wondering, why these numbers?: The numbers refer to the angle a runway is pointing. So North is 36 (360degrees), East is 09 (90 degrees), South is 18 (180degrees), West is 27 (270 degrees). The other numbers are when you have 4 or more runways in the same direction, then those runways get a number that is 10 degrees off (so 1 number less). Thank you Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Runway for getting me to choose the correct numbers and not random ones ;-)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 17:12 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3033
Location: Sweden
Quast65 wrote:
Well, I take a little different approach, I remove all buildings from excisting airports (then replace remaining graphics, like groundtiles/runways, with those that match my fake objects) and then place fake objects next to them. Just like I did in my screenshot.


That's my approach as well as you can tell from my airports ingame... :) I'm using the airport from Zimmlocks TBRS-set, but all airport graphics have been replaced and additional ones have been added as eye candy...

And well done on those runway numbers... :W May I get the permission to use them myself?

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 17:50 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 480
Location: The Netherlands
Thnx!
Yes, you are very welcome to use them. I aim to release all my work under GPLv2-license.
So everyone is free to use it or make alterations to it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 18:09 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3033
Location: Sweden
Thank you! :W

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 19:27 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 480
Location: The Netherlands
We are getting somewhere here! :oops:
Attachment:
FakeAirport004.png
FakeAirport004.png [ 235.98 KiB | Viewed 4899 times ]

There will also be tiles with just the numbers and numbers with L/R/C


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2015, 20:28 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3033
Location: Sweden
Yes indeed! :) Too bad really that airports in TTDLX wasn't made up of a runway that could be placed anywhere and in any direction controlling the aircrafts, with all the rest to be added and built up manually...

But this is the second best thing... Still remember when I posted that screen of my new airport in Innovatia with the highway signs attached... Great times in TTDLX history... :P

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2015, 04:25 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 02 May 2013, 04:40
Posts: 18
Location: Czech republic
Hi,

the numbers are great looking, kinda feels a bit of more real for me.
On another look at the airport ... I got an idea that runway lights might be worth a try to make it more real if you would want to, something like the following etc.
http://www.airport-technology.com/features/feature1422/feature1422-3.html
http://profwaqarhussain.blogspot.cz/2014/07/why-are-runway-lights-white-taxiway.html

Quast65 wrote:
@athanasios, that will take a long time... AFAIK it is very difficult to change the way aircraft move on an airport. Hopefully one day... I just hope that new graphics will inspire developers to look into that.

This might give you a bit more insight or general idea
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=38709

EDIT: also the following, there is zip file containing .doc with info http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=33163

A patch for 2 additional airports was done, may give you some additional info or idea :)
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=56933

Regards,
Ali


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Mar 2015, 04:52 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1758
Location: Hellas
Thanks for providing those links. They can be useful to new members. That java attempt looked promising but ended abruptly. I dunno why the developers didn't continue from there.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Mar 2015, 18:57 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 480
Location: The Netherlands
ISA was so kind to give me permission to use his approach light graphics :W :
Attachment:
FakeAirport005.png
FakeAirport005.png [ 192.95 KiB | Viewed 4858 times ]

Runway 09L is for take-off (and thus closed for landing)
Runway 09R is for landing
Runway 27L and 27R are closed for landing


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2015, 10:54 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3033
Location: Sweden
Looks brilliant! :) I assume these are eye candy coded? Myself I use regular station tiles for these items, allowig me to extend the station catchment area...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2015, 15:59 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 480
Location: The Netherlands
Yes, they are objects.
I used to code my fake airport graphics as stations too, but I ran into the problem of the maximum number of tiles allowed for a single station :oops:
My airports are huge ;)
Also, I often made the mistake of removing a tile with the bomb-tool and not the bulldozer-tool, resulting in a total destruction of the entire airport..... :cry:
So now I transfer passengers via train or bus (also more realistic) or just cheat and place an eyecandy stationtile in a city nearby with CTRL and thus linking that tile to the airport :mrgreen:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2015, 19:34 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 02 May 2013, 04:40
Posts: 18
Location: Czech republic
Great looking .)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2015, 23:22 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3033
Location: Sweden
Quast65 wrote:
So now I transfer passengers via train or bus (also more realistic) or just cheat and place an eyecandy stationtile in a city nearby with CTRL and thus linking that tile to the airport :mrgreen:


That's pretty much how I usually do it myself... :P And it allows for airports to be placed outside a towns bounderies - as in real life...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Mar 2015, 11:21 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 10:10
Posts: 229
Whaat, no credit for me? :_(

These are looking really good, definitely taking up where I left off in my development of Fake Airports.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 5   [ 93 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules