It is currently 10 Dec 2019, 11:34

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 22 of 23   [ 452 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 26 Sep 2017, 18:13 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1844
Location: Canada
Quast65 wrote:
If I come up with new things (like the cargo-aware tiles I am going to work on) but from now on somewhere in a public section, they can always be moved to their own thread in the Tutorial-section (and have their separate discussion thread).
Why not get your own workshop as well? 8-)

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 27 Sep 2017, 00:54 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1710
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quast65 wrote:
I suggest that you ask SAC to set up your own workshop in the Guild Workshops section so that you have a private place to develop stuff quietly


I not sure if I'd use a place like that as I happy to allow others to see what I doing and get feed back.

With the work I be doing with what Quast65 has taught me, I be happy to show this in my 2 station forums to allow all to see.

Quast65 wrote:
Yes!Garry has at least 5 or 6 different platformtypes (ranging from industrial, rural, to various urban styles) and that adds up fast when you give them various extra eyecandy...


This went further then what I thought and will get larger thanks to Quast65 :) 8-)

My original plans just do Country Platforms and Stations as the Dutch Set and some others are mostly city types.

I wasn't going to do any city and suburban ones, but after visiting many Suburban Stations to take photos of trains, I also took photos of the stations and on viewing these realised that they be good to practice with and seeing how easy some of them are, so I started on them too.

Now I been taught how to do Multitile Stations I hope to make some country stations with platforms as close as possible to the real thing. These I plane put on 2x5 and 2x5 tile sets. Even the small stations I will give the longer tile effect so long trains can still stop at the short platforms.

Cheers fellas

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 27 Sep 2017, 15:16 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
wallyweb wrote:
Why not get your own workshop as well? 8-)

Well, I have to agree with Garry:
Quote:
I not sure if I'd use a place like that as I happy to allow others to see what I doing and get feed back.

In this case it was handy to do it in a more secluded place, but I dont see me doing anything like this again ;-)
And therefor, again, thank you for letting us use a corner of your workshop, I will make sure that we sweep the floors now that we are finished :mrgreen:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 27 Sep 2017, 15:27 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1710
Location: Newcastle, Australia
It handy to have a secluded place when learning to do things with a few people so it not get clattered up with to many others .. just look back at this one .. a few times I did get carried away and put things here that could have been in the other post.

If ever I get to start a new project and just need advice from you fellas, then yes, I'll start a secluded place.

A projects I like to look at later on is making a rail set similar to NuTracks, but with rails that are used in sidings, branch lines and different speed main lines.

Cheers fellas

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 30 Sep 2017, 15:52 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
@Wally:
Could you give us 48 hours before you move the thread?
I have something to add regarding to Reserved-Path-Aware Waypoints and Reserved-Path-Aware Multi-tile stations, but dont have time to do that today ;-)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 30 Sep 2017, 16:02 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1710
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Maybe it be a good idea if I have a work area like Wally suggested.

Mainly as a to-do-list .. can list all I need to do here and mark them off as completed.

Quast65 your good at finding and pixels I miss, so also make a good test site for things I do.

Who should I include besides you 2, athanasios and SAC.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 30 Sep 2017, 17:36 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1844
Location: Canada
@Qust65 ... Take your time. I have a very uncomfortable cracked sternum from a car accident yesterday so I am moving very slowly.

@Garry ... Good thinking. Send a PM to SAC and I will remind her in about a week. Not to worry if you miss somebody on your access list. They can always be added later.

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 30 Sep 2017, 18:08 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
Get well soon my friend!!!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2017, 01:22 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1710
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Wish you well soon Wally .. your health comes first.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2017, 15:20 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
Here are the templates for a:


Reserved Path Aware Waypoint (where with drag&drop you can have different graphics for the inbetween "platforms")
Attachment:
Example372.png
Example372.png [ 127.12 KiB | Viewed 1550 times ]


Attachment:
RPA_WAYPOINT_SOURCES.rar [8.39 KiB]
Downloaded 42 times


As always with waypoints, change:
- Paths/names to graphicsfiles
- Station-IDs (in this example "1A")
- The hight of the boundingboxes (to the appropriate hight of the highest structure in the tile)
- Name you want to give to the waypoint

In this case there are 2 groups of graphicsfiles, _1_ is the group that shows graphics when no path is chosen, _2_ is the group that shows the graphics when a path is chosen.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2017, 17:29 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
To complete the templates for RPA stations, I am going to give you the templates for a 7x7 RPA station.

I will try to explain what is different from a regular 7x7, so hopefully you will also then know what to change for other sizes (or for the tracked/non-tracked combo's)...

Reserved Path Aware Multi-tile station (in this case a 7x7)

Attachment:
Example373.png
Example373.png [ 172.42 KiB | Viewed 1549 times ]


Attachment:
RPA_7x7_SOURCES.rar [154.24 KiB]
Downloaded 44 times



So.... What is different?...

* Graphics:
You now have 2 graphicsgroups (logical, one for when there is no path reserved _1_, one for when there is a path reserved _2_ ;-) )

BUT! Not all of those graphics have to be different!!!
Lets say for example that you have a big station, like a huge locomotive shed with doors.
The only thing you then will want to change is the doors (closed when no path, open when there is a path chosen).
In that case only the tiles that have the doors have to have different graphics, all others can stay the same (so you can just copy them over from the non-path graphics file).



* Code:

In the code there are a couple of tricky differences...


//Action-1

There is now code for both graphicsgroups, so you have two Action-1 blocks.
But!! At the end of each Action-1 block, there is now an Action-2 codeline!!

These have Action-2 IDs, the first one has ID 00, the second one has ID 01.
1428 * 7 02 04 00 00 01 00 00
1628 * 7 02 04 01 00 01 00 00
This is important to keep in mind for the other Action-2s!!

Also keep in mind, that when you want to make the station smaller, you will have to delete the same parts from BOTH Action-1 blocks AND to change the number of graphics each Action-1 block has accordingly. (so, the same as with a regular multi-tile station, just twice)



//Action-0
The Action-0 stays the same as for other Multi-tile stations (also for the tracked/non-tracked combo's).
Making a station reserved path aware has no influence on the properties that you define there.

Want to have a smaller station? Just do the changes I explained in previous examples..

Cool, moving on ;-)


//Action-2

Now, this has a couple of changes...

- The first line of that block changes from:
607 * 7 02 04 00 00 01 00 00
to
1630 * 14 02 04 02 81 44 00 01 01 01 00 01 01 00 00

This is where part of the RPA-magic takes place ;-)
As you can see, that Action-2 line now has ID 02 (as the two previous ones after the Action-1s, had 00 and 01).

Aha, so now we have a sequence coming up! :twisted:

The regular 7x7 looked like this:

607 * 7 02 04 00 00 01 00 00
608 * 34 02 04 01 81 41 0C 0F 06 04 80 01 01 06 80 02 02 08 80 03 03 0A 80 04 04 0C 80 05 05 0E 80 06 06 00 80 //number of tracks (width)
609 * 16 02 04 02 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 01 00 00 00 18 80 //number of platforms (length)
610 * 34 02 04 03 81 41 0C 0F 06 12 80 01 01 14 80 02 02 16 80 03 03 18 80 04 04 1A 80 05 05 1C 80 06 06 10 80
611 * 16 02 04 04 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 03 00 01 01 02 00
612 * 34 02 04 05 81 41 0C 0F 06 20 80 01 01 22 80 02 02 24 80 03 03 26 80 04 04 28 80 05 05 2A 80 06 06 1E 80
613 * 16 02 04 06 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 05 00 02 02 04 00
614 * 34 02 04 07 81 41 0C 0F 06 2E 80 01 01 30 80 02 02 32 80 03 03 34 80 04 04 36 80 05 05 38 80 06 06 2C 80
615 * 16 02 04 08 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 07 00 03 03 06 00
616 * 34 02 04 09 81 41 0C 0F 06 3C 80 01 01 3E 80 02 02 40 80 03 03 42 80 04 04 44 80 05 05 46 80 06 06 3A 80
617 * 16 02 04 0A 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 09 00 04 04 08 00
618 * 34 02 04 0B 81 41 0C 0F 06 4A 80 01 01 4C 80 02 02 4E 80 03 03 50 80 04 04 52 80 05 05 54 80 06 06 48 80
619 * 16 02 04 0C 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0B 00 05 05 0A 00
620 * 34 02 04 0D 81 41 0C 0F 06 58 80 01 01 5A 80 02 02 5C 80 03 03 5E 80 04 04 60 80 05 05 62 80 06 06 56 80
621 * 16 02 04 0E 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0D 00 06 06 0C 00
622 * 14 02 04 0F 81 0C 00 FF 01 0E 00 14 14 00 00

We now get this:

1630 * 14 02 04 02 81 44 00 01 01 01 00 01 01 00 00
1631 * 34 02 04 03 81 41 0C 0F 06 04 80 01 01 06 80 02 02 08 80 03 03 0A 80 04 04 0C 80 05 05 0E 80 06 06 00 80 //number of tracks (width)
1632 * 16 02 04 04 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 03 00 00 00 18 80 //number of platforms (length)
1633 * 34 02 04 05 81 41 0C 0F 06 12 80 01 01 14 80 02 02 16 80 03 03 18 80 04 04 1A 80 05 05 1C 80 06 06 10 80
1634 * 16 02 04 06 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 05 00 01 01 04 00
1635 * 34 02 04 07 81 41 0C 0F 06 20 80 01 01 22 80 02 02 24 80 03 03 26 80 04 04 28 80 05 05 2A 80 06 06 1E 80
1636 * 16 02 04 08 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 07 00 02 02 06 00
1637 * 34 02 04 09 81 41 0C 0F 06 2E 80 01 01 30 80 02 02 32 80 03 03 34 80 04 04 36 80 05 05 38 80 06 06 2C 80
1638 * 16 02 04 0A 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 09 00 03 03 08 00
1639 * 34 02 04 0B 81 41 0C 0F 06 3C 80 01 01 3E 80 02 02 40 80 03 03 42 80 04 04 44 80 05 05 46 80 06 06 3A 80
1640 * 16 02 04 0C 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0B 00 04 04 0A 00
1641 * 34 02 04 0D 81 41 0C 0F 06 4A 80 01 01 4C 80 02 02 4E 80 03 03 50 80 04 04 52 80 05 05 54 80 06 06 48 80
1642 * 16 02 04 0E 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0D 00 05 05 0C 00
1643 * 34 02 04 0F 81 41 0C 0F 06 58 80 01 01 5A 80 02 02 5C 80 03 03 5E 80 04 04 60 80 05 05 62 80 06 06 56 80
1644 * 16 02 04 10 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0F 00 06 06 0E 00
1645 * 14 02 04 11 81 0C 00 FF 01 10 00 14 14 02 00

So the sequence of the IDs now starts with 02 and then goes up (via Hexidecimal counting).

There are also two changes in the last line of the action-2 block:
- The 00 just before the end changes to 02
Thats the other part of where the RPA magic takes place ;-)

- The 0E changes to 10 as that number refers to the ID of the previous codeline.




Finally, there is a difference in a sequence in the //number of platforms (length) codelines:

It was this:

607 * 7 02 04 00 00 01 00 00
608 * 34 02 04 01 81 41 0C 0F 06 04 80 01 01 06 80 02 02 08 80 03 03 0A 80 04 04 0C 80 05 05 0E 80 06 06 00 80 //number of tracks (width)
609 * 16 02 04 02 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 01 00 00 00 18 80 //number of platforms (length)
610 * 34 02 04 03 81 41 0C 0F 06 12 80 01 01 14 80 02 02 16 80 03 03 18 80 04 04 1A 80 05 05 1C 80 06 06 10 80
611 * 16 02 04 04 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 03 00 01 01 02 00
612 * 34 02 04 05 81 41 0C 0F 06 20 80 01 01 22 80 02 02 24 80 03 03 26 80 04 04 28 80 05 05 2A 80 06 06 1E 80
613 * 16 02 04 06 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 05 00 02 02 04 00
614 * 34 02 04 07 81 41 0C 0F 06 2E 80 01 01 30 80 02 02 32 80 03 03 34 80 04 04 36 80 05 05 38 80 06 06 2C 80
615 * 16 02 04 08 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 07 00 03 03 06 00
616 * 34 02 04 09 81 41 0C 0F 06 3C 80 01 01 3E 80 02 02 40 80 03 03 42 80 04 04 44 80 05 05 46 80 06 06 3A 80
617 * 16 02 04 0A 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 09 00 04 04 08 00
618 * 34 02 04 0B 81 41 0C 0F 06 4A 80 01 01 4C 80 02 02 4E 80 03 03 50 80 04 04 52 80 05 05 54 80 06 06 48 80
619 * 16 02 04 0C 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0B 00 05 05 0A 00
620 * 34 02 04 0D 81 41 0C 0F 06 58 80 01 01 5A 80 02 02 5C 80 03 03 5E 80 04 04 60 80 05 05 62 80 06 06 56 80
621 * 16 02 04 0E 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0D 00 06 06 0C 00
622 * 14 02 04 0F 81 0C 00 FF 01 0E 00 14 14 00 00

So going from right to left, up to down:

18 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D

These numbers refer back to the IDs of the two previous action-2 lines!!
(except the first one, that is always 18, rather than 00, dunno why, it just has to ;-) )

But our ID numbers have changed, so now what?
Well, change accordingly... 8-) Just add +2 (as we have added two Action-2s at the end of the Action-1 blocks).

So the sequence is:
18 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

Looks like this now:

1630 * 14 02 04 02 81 44 00 01 01 01 00 01 01 00 00
1631 * 34 02 04 03 81 41 0C 0F 06 04 80 01 01 06 80 02 02 08 80 03 03 0A 80 04 04 0C 80 05 05 0E 80 06 06 00 80 //number of tracks (width)
1632 * 16 02 04 04 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 03 00 00 00 18 80 //number of platforms (length)
1633 * 34 02 04 05 81 41 0C 0F 06 12 80 01 01 14 80 02 02 16 80 03 03 18 80 04 04 1A 80 05 05 1C 80 06 06 10 80
1634 * 16 02 04 06 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 05 00 01 01 04 00
1635 * 34 02 04 07 81 41 0C 0F 06 20 80 01 01 22 80 02 02 24 80 03 03 26 80 04 04 28 80 05 05 2A 80 06 06 1E 80
1636 * 16 02 04 08 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 07 00 02 02 06 00
1637 * 34 02 04 09 81 41 0C 0F 06 2E 80 01 01 30 80 02 02 32 80 03 03 34 80 04 04 36 80 05 05 38 80 06 06 2C 80
1638 * 16 02 04 0A 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 09 00 03 03 08 00
1639 * 34 02 04 0B 81 41 0C 0F 06 3C 80 01 01 3E 80 02 02 40 80 03 03 42 80 04 04 44 80 05 05 46 80 06 06 3A 80
1640 * 16 02 04 0C 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0B 00 04 04 0A 00
1641 * 34 02 04 0D 81 41 0C 0F 06 4A 80 01 01 4C 80 02 02 4E 80 03 03 50 80 04 04 52 80 05 05 54 80 06 06 48 80
1642 * 16 02 04 0E 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0D 00 05 05 0C 00
1643 * 34 02 04 0F 81 41 0C 0F 06 58 80 01 01 5A 80 02 02 5C 80 03 03 5E 80 04 04 60 80 05 05 62 80 06 06 56 80
1644 * 16 02 04 10 81 41 80 0F 00 07 01 0F 00 06 06 0E 00
1645 * 14 02 04 11 81 0C 00 FF 01 10 00 14 14 02 00

With these changes all the numbers in the Action-2 block are ok now.
So, if you want to make the station smaller, you can now do the changes as I have explained in previous examples.


//Action-3

As I have explained in previous examples, there is a reference to the last Action-2 ID in the Action-3

It used to be this:
623 * 10 03 04 01 15 01 FE 0F 00 00 00
and now becomes this:
1646 * 10 03 04 01 1B 01 FE 11 00 00 00

As 11 now is the last ID-number in the Action-2 block.

If the station is smaller and has fewer Action-2 lines (if you make it shorter), you need to change that number, but that you know from previous examples.


//Action-4 is not affected.



Thats it! :shock:

I know, a lot to take in again :help: :cucko:

Basically, the thing is that we have added two extra Action-2 codelines, these change some other numbers and references. And that is what you need to be careful of, that those changes are made correct....
But this template should help you get on your way, the correct changes have been made, so you can now start shaving off stuff to make the station smaller, just like I explained in previous examples.

Dont hesitate to ask if you have any questions ;-)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2017, 23:57 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1710
Location: Newcastle, Australia
These look really great .. gives me even more ideas. :roll:

One idea for Path Aware Multitile Stations is for when a train arrives at a freight platform have packages and freight appear on platform while train is stopped there. When train leaves they disappear.

I sent a PM to SAC see if can get a Post for my To-Do-Lists and work area.

Cheers pal :bowing:

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2017, 00:27 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
Quick reply via my phone
I dont think path aware tiles should be used for that.
They should be used for quick animations. Like when a train passes some thing at full speed.
So, doors gates signals etc.
Longer things (like loading/unloading) should be done by actual animations (those i cant do and I am also not willing to learn) .
Or by cargo-aware tiles (those i am close to finishing), that slowly decrease in amount of cargo while train loads. And slowly increase again while there is no transport.
That looks way better than the sudden effect that path aware tiles have.
So, wait just a second until ik master the cargo aware tiles ;-)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2017, 00:50 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1755
Location: Hellas
Wally: I wish you get well soon! At least it won't restrict your movement. Is the crack on the bone or the cartilage? When I broke both ulna and radius the pain was unbearable and it took months for normal usage and movement to come back to normal.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2017, 08:47 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1710
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Hi Quast65,

I been busy playing around with the Multitile Sets and made some 2x5's sets you might like to use at some stage.
Attachment:
2X5Multitiles.png
2X5Multitiles.png [ 34.07 KiB | Viewed 1543 times ]


My idea of platforms 5 long should cover all the lengths I need.

Many of stations I want use these for would only be 2 to 4 tiles long, but with the use of the Stop Posts I made and some other types I will make to act as platforms but not be platforms placed at the ends be able to accept long trains with out to much hassle.

Will know for sure once I start making them.

Here's the files for them.

If you ever make any other sizes for your own sets any chance having a copy? Any what I make I send to you. Eventually try make all the sizes and combinations as samples and can use when need.

Cheers pal


Attachments:
2x5 Multitile Sets Samples.rar [95.82 KiB]
Downloaded 38 times

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2017, 11:25 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
Hey buddy!

Quote:
If you ever make any other sizes for your own sets any chance having a copy?

I will be using the same method for my sets as I used in the tutorials.
So you can grab them from the sources that I will post when I release those kind of stations.

Quote:
Any what I make I send to you.

No need for that, making the tutorial has also taught me how to make various sizes and tracked/non-tracked combo's rather easily. ;-)

Quote:
Many of stations I want use these for would only be 2 to 4 tiles long, but with the use of the Stop Posts I made and some other types I will make to act as platforms but not be platforms placed at the ends be able to accept long trains with out to much hassle.

Try to keep one thing in mind:
"Can I also make the exact same station by using modular pieces?"
If so, dont use multitile, but offer the pieces modular. That gives a player more freedom/options/creativity.
For example, you already have the short platforms and the stop-post pieces in modular form. So a player can already make a lot of various sizes with those, without being "forced" to have the station 5 tiles long, or with a certain amount of tracks...
Try to keep multitile stations "special"....


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2017, 12:03 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1710
Location: Newcastle, Australia
GarryG wrote:
you already have the short platforms and the stop-post pieces in modular form. So a player can already make a lot of various sizes with those, without being "forced" to have the station 5 tiles long,


Glad I got you to mention my ideas as you often think of better ideas. :bowing:

I'll remake what I done to a size .. redoing them good idea too as give me experience making them.

Cheers Pal

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2017, 12:41 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1844
Location: Canada
Quast65 & GarryG wrote:
...
Keep in mind that a player may want to establish a station "sized" to his current needs. The modular bits allow the player to then "grow" the station over time as needed.

@All ... Thanks for your concerns over my agony. :bowing:
@Athanasios ... The sternum is a rather unique bone. It is flat and flexible so as to allow one to bend over. Each flex is a painful reminder that I should be doing more deep knee bends to pick stuff up from the floor. Extending my arm to reach across a table or counter for something is a constant reminder that there is a good reason why my mother taught me that it is just plain good manners to say "Please pass the gravy." ;) Don't poke my chest while in a conversation or I will SCREAM your nose off you face. :twisted:
Now please excuse me while I have another aspirin. :cry:

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 04 Oct 2017, 16:21 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
I managed to get some cargo aware stations to work ;-)

Its still a rather grey area for me, as I dont really know why it works, but it works... :cucko:

I have only managed to get single tiles (non-tracked & tracked) working (but that is good enough for me).
And the "animation" gets triggered by ANY cargo!
So, if you have a tile that shows passengers when there is cargo, those will also show up then when placed next to an oilwell ;-)
Furthermore, it will add up ALL waiting cargo's to get to the next step!
So, in this example the steps are 200 waiting cargo's (further down I will explain how to change that amount), then it will change for example when there are 180 passengers and 21 bags of mail ;-)
Basically, its up to the player to place these tiles next to an appropriate industry... 8-)



So, here we go with the first one:


Cargo Aware 1x1 Non-Track, triggered by ANY cargo, next step by adding up ALL waiting cargo's:
Attachment:
Example375.png
Example375.png [ 230.84 KiB | Viewed 1536 times ]


Sources (graphics & code)
Attachment:
CargoAware_NonTrack_AllCargos.rar [8.36 KiB]
Downloaded 45 times



As you can see in the graphics, there are 6 steps (empty, up to stage 5).
I think that is a rather nice gradual way of steps up to the "full" stage.

As always in the code you need to change:
- Paths/names to graphicsfiles
- Station-IDs (in this example "1C")
- Purchasemenu-ID (in this example "AS10")
- The hight of the boundingboxes (to the appropriate hight of the highest structure in the tile)
- Name you want to give to the station
- Name of Purchase Submenu

Regarding Purchase Submenu, up to you, but I think I will offer non-track and tracked Cargo Aware in two separate submenu's...


There is one other thing you may want to change:
1674 * 121 00 04 06 01 1C 08 "AS10" 11 00 14 FF 15 FF 09 04
8D 0F 00 00 00 00 00 10 05 03 2D 04 00 00 00 0B 00 10 05 03 2E 04 00 00 80
8D 0F 00 00 00 00 00 05 10 03 2F 04 00 00 0B 00 00 05 10 03 30 04 00 00 80
8D 0F 00 00 00 00 00 10 05 03 2D 04 00 00 00 0B 00 10 05 03 2E 04 00 00 80
8D 0F 00 00 00 00 00 05 10 03 2F 04 00 00 0B 00 00 05 10 03 30 04 00 00 80
10 E8 03

The value of property 10 in the Action-0.
This is a property we have not used before and it relates to in what steps a cargo aware tile should change.
The value (E8 03) is reversed hexadecimal, so its 03E8, which is 1000 in decimals.
This is the amount when the final step of the "animation" should be shown, and by dividing that by the number of steps we have, you get the number when a change takes place.
so, as we have 5 steps (excluding step-0, empty), changes happen after each 200 amount of cargo.
This is a nice amount for example for cargos that have a high and/or fast production (for example passengers).

But for example you have a station only for mail (that is produced in far less quantities in relation to passengers) those steps may be too far apart.
So for tiles that graphically show mail waiting, change the value of property 10, for example to C8 00 (00C8 in hexadecimal, which is 200 in decimal), then changes happen after each 40 amount of cargo.

According to the wiki, the maximum value property 10 can have is FF 0F (so 0FFF, which is 4095), so 819 is the max number when changes happen in these examples (you probably can add more steps, but as I said, I think these are enough).

Its a bit different for cargos that are produced in larger volumes, like oil, that is x1000 I believe, so each change is after 200000 liters in this case.

You probably have much better knowledge regarding what industry produces what quantities, how fast and in what volumes, as you have experience with coding industries ;-)
Use that knowledge for deciding what value property 10 should get for that product, or test it out first with a certain industry to see if the value needs to change (having everything showing full very quickly all the time isnt much fun ;-) ).


Last edited by Quast65 on 09 Oct 2017, 14:45, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 04 Oct 2017, 16:26 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 479
Location: The Netherlands
And here is the second:


Cargo Aware Platforms, triggered by ANY cargo, next step by adding up ALL waiting cargo's:
Attachment:
Example376.png
Example376.png [ 231.66 KiB | Viewed 1536 times ]


Sources (code & graphics):
Attachment:
CargoAware_Platforms_AllCargos.rar [11.24 KiB]
Downloaded 41 times



See remarks in the previous post (as those also apply to this).

Want to make single-sideds?
Just dont draw graphics for the side you want to have empty :twisted:


Last edited by Quast65 on 09 Oct 2017, 14:47, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 22 of 23   [ 452 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules