It is currently 17 Dec 2017, 13:58

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 8 of 23   [ 450 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 23  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 16 Jun 2017, 06:15 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Here the template I been using for roofs. Made some rust red roofs too .. but not tried them on any buildings yet.


Attachments:
Roof_Templates.png
Roof_Templates.png [ 20.69 KiB | Viewed 24 times ]

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 16 Jun 2017, 08:15 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 406
Location: The Netherlands
I have always been a fan of your drawingstyle, but sometimes you really excel yourself!!! :bowing:
A couple of those rooftextures are really really awesome!! (man-oh-man, those red-rust ones!! :o )

However, do try to keep the shading in the OpenTTD-world in mind...
Sometimes it should be the other way around (the red arrows), or a bit more obvious (the green circles):
Attachment:
Example274.png
Example274.png [ 24.35 KiB | Viewed 21 times ]


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 16 Jun 2017, 09:02 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Hehe .. I do get shading wrong at time .. must be because shadows are different in my country :lol:

I can actually blame Firs 1.4.3 as the silver and green roofs are from buildings from that set and that the way they had them. I just changed colours to some for the red and greys.

I also got some walls been working on too .. will put copy here soon.

I think it easier working off big sprites like these as just a matter of cloning them.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 16 Jun 2017, 09:38 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Try these.


Attachments:
New_Roof_Templates.png
New_Roof_Templates.png [ 21.02 KiB | Viewed 21 times ]
Wall_Templates.png
Wall_Templates.png [ 20.23 KiB | Viewed 21 times ]

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 16 Jun 2017, 15:23 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Here's some of my latest creations.
Attachment:
Additions to AuzStations.png
Additions to AuzStations.png [ 34.23 KiB | Viewed 20 times ]

Issues of AuzStations Part 1 & 2 and also a copy of AuzWiredStations for those who use McZapkie's Wired: telecomunication wires and fast information carriers.

All 3 are zipped up together along with the png and NFO files.

Some of the changes:

AuzStations Part 1: Employed some clearers to remove some of the rust from the roofs of some of the awnings. Still some rust there, but not as much as before. Looks a wee bit better.

AuzStations Part 2:

Added:
Some horses with non-track tiles for those who start using trains before cars became available. Horses breed by McZapkie in his Polroads set. Like to make a set later with old style cars like the Model T-Ford and some old trucks.

Small station building and staff hut based on the station called Mindaribba located on the North Coast line in NSW, Australia. Has a few giant grass hopers behind the waiting room.

Stock Siding and livestock yards. These will line up with the ones found in AuzObjects_Rail and the AuzInd sets.

AuzWiredStations only has a Staff Hut at the moment to test my idea. It is being designed to use with Wired: telecomunication wires and fast information carriers. Hope to add more stations and platforms to this at a later date.

Time for me to get some beauty sleep .. ni ni


Attachments:
AuzstationsandAuzWiredStationsJune16.rar [2.91 MiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 18 Jun 2017, 12:04 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Added a few more platforms, stations and non-track tiles.
Attachment:
BrickStations.png
BrickStations.png [ 17.87 KiB | Viewed 17 times ]

Designed from a station called Kendall on the North Coast Line, but the original is weatherboard. I made this one with bricks. Testing out the rusty red roofs.

Also made some Parking Lots with Hedge fencing.

Another change I made is moved the Livestock yards to AuzStations: Freight Buildings. Try and keep all Freight buildings and infrastructure together and have less Submenus.

Like to also make some Parcel Offices and a smaller Goods Shed.

Heres Part 2 grf and NFO files.

Cheers


Attachments:
auzstations_2_v001.rar [209.3 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 18 Jun 2017, 15:08 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 406
Location: The Netherlands
I think something may be wrong with the small building....
It should have a foundation of 3 pixels high (the hight of the platforms), but it looks like it has a much larger/deeper foundation:
Attachment:
Example275.png
Example275.png [ 54.34 KiB | Viewed 16 times ]


EDIT:
Never mind, I didnt realise that it is a wall in front of it :oops:
Bit difficult to see though, this may make it look better:
Attachment:
Example276.png
Example276.png [ 43.83 KiB | Viewed 16 times ]


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 19 Jun 2017, 00:38 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
That the bad part about making brick buildings as some times hard to see to line things properly and also some times difficult to allow parts to show properly.

Other day I started to make some templates for buildings to make them a bit like kit homes.

Make all the walls separate and roofs, then just join the pieces as needed. I had a lovely set almost finished being made and lost power here for a short time and lost all that work. Hope to do it again soon.

Cheers pal

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 20 Jun 2017, 07:57 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Remember the car parks I did in the object sets? Seeing if can make them Stations with overhead parking.

This first attempt.
Attachment:
Car Parks.png
Car Parks.png [ 13.83 KiB | Viewed 14 times ]

Using the Single Siding Platforms and the Island Platforms can make it as wide as we like.

Just a minor glitch at moment as can be seen my loco at the platform, scan se the white lines on platform. I know where I went wrong and will work on that when I get chance to do more.

All the parts you seen in the object set will transfer to these stations and I think I will include it with the Wired Platform set as hope to make several car parks so have a variety and not all the same cars.

Once I master these, maybe can make some with shops above stations to match these car parks.

I think I can then change the overlap car parks from the object sets to stop the glitch and make them normal tiles to match these station ones. Like to make a variety with ground car parking and shops above, and multi-story car parking.

If like to try the station ones and see how it works here the newgrf file.


Attachments:
auzstations_2_v001.grf [849.46 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 20 Jun 2017, 11:49 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 406
Location: The Netherlands
Nice!!

Quote:
Just a minor glitch at moment as can be seen my loco at the platform, scan se the white lines on platform. I know where I went wrong and will work on that when I get chance to do more.

Let me guess... That part of the platform that should only be on the back of a track is also drawn in the part that should only have graphics of the front (and the roof)?

Quote:
I think I will include it with the Wired Platform set

Uhm, why? I think you should use the Wired Platform set exclusively for stations that should be used in combination with McZapkies Wired tracktype set...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 20 Jun 2017, 11:58 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quote:
Let me guess... That part of the platform that should only be on the back of a track is also drawn in the part that should only have graphics of the front (and the roof)?


Yep .. good guess :W

Quote:
Uhm, why? I think you should use the Wired Platform set exclusively for stations that should be used in combination with McZapkies Wired tracktype set...


Thinking to save sets .. I started out making one set and now with these car parks might end up with 4 sets. But then in Part 2 still lots of room and not sure how much more will add to that .. might be room left there.

Shall see what happens

Cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 20 Jun 2017, 13:50 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 406
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Yep .. good guess

8-) :mrgreen:
Quote:
Thinking to save sets

To be honest, I dont think there is any harm in making multiple sets...
- The Auz station sets, that are based on real stations/platforms in Australia
- The Wired set, as that is so specific to one particular tracktype
- A set with "fantasy" stations, like the carparks, shops over tracks, maybe eventually also those coalloading stations, etc etc, so not based on actual existing structures in Australia


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 20 Jun 2017, 14:24 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quote:
To be honest, I dont think there is any harm in making multiple sets...


No prob .. made a new set for the Car Parks .. at the moment have called is auzstations_Overheads. But maybe what you said Auz Fantasy Stations might be a good name.

Hope to make a coal stage for the set, and also look at idea for loading wheat from silos, coal and other minerals from old mines.

Hope tomorrow afternoon to work on this idea some more.

My bed time .. cheers

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 21 Jun 2017, 05:23 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1588
Location: Hellas
Some ideas:
1. Car parking as a waypoint.
2. Add some more floors.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 21 Jun 2017, 07:16 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I fixed that minor glitch and all seems to be working great now.

I removed the Centre platform car parks. They are all Single Sided Platforms now.
Attachment:
Car Parks2.png
Car Parks2.png [ 28.12 KiB | Viewed 9 times ]

As you can see can make stations as wide as you like and can make single and Island stations or a mixture of both.

I'll make the ramps and lower non track tiles next.

Then hope to make stairways and lifts for the people. Wonder if a rope ladder be ok too :mrgreen:

athanasios wrote:
Some ideas:1. Car parking as a waypoint.2. Add some more floors.

They not bad ideas too .. the more floors .. do you mean multi story car park, or maybe some shops over top of the car parks?

Here's the file if like to try and see if I missed any alignments. Has the NFO and NewGRF file.

EDIT:
Ramps done and some non-track tiles.
Attachment:
Car Parks3.png
Car Parks3.png [ 22.24 KiB | Viewed 9 times ]


Cheers


Attachments:
AuzFantasyStations.rar [30.2 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 22 Jun 2017, 06:53 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Looking at changing or adding new ramps similar to this.
Attachment:
New Ramp Idea.png
New Ramp Idea.png [ 5.05 KiB | Viewed 7 times ]


The ramps a bit steep but a good driver shouldn't have any problem getting up it. Just as long as his brakes working good on the down hill run, especially if his partner has been shopping and filled the car with what they brought.

See if I can make a lift to go between the stairs for those unable to walk up and down stairs.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 22 Jun 2017, 12:52 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 406
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Looking at changing or adding new ramps similar to this.

I hope you will add them, as I like those curved ramps also.

I dont mind the steepness of the new ramps too much, however I would like to suggest a design change as they dont link up with the roads right now:
- Place the ramp in the middle (so it will link up with the roads)
- The pedestrian stairs should then start at the very end of the tile and go down a bit more steeper than the ramp.
- Let the flat part of the stairs (so roughly at half hight) run under the ramp.
- And then let the stairs go fully down to groundlevel in the front of the tile.

It would also mean an extra design for the parkingplatform that links up to this new ramp, but there is enough room in this GRF at the moment for that I think ;-)

EDIT:
Those ramps and their connections to either the parkingplatform and the actual roads may be nice to do on a 2x1 (or maybe even a 3x1) segment that goes alongside the parkingplatforms. That will either give you enough room to draw a straight ramp that doesnt go down too steep (and then can have a cornered-road connection to the actual roads) or those curved ramps together with roadconnection (so that the roadconnections dont have to be separate tiles)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 22 Jun 2017, 13:32 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quote:
Those ramps and their connections to either the parkingplatform and the actual roads may be nice to do on a 2x1 (or maybe even a 3x1) segment that goes alongside the parkingplatforms.


I think that be best way to go as I forgot about lining the ramp with the road :mrgreen: so 2x1 tiles might fix this as gives me room to draw.

See if can design similar to these but on a 2x1 tile.

So when you get chance teach me how to do :)

Cheers pal

EDIT: Just a thought .. maybe with a 2x1 tile can do the curved ramps with footpaths on each side the road


Attachments:
Rampswithlift andstairs.png
Rampswithlift andstairs.png [ 5.85 KiB | Viewed 3 times ]

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 22 Jun 2017, 14:00 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 406
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
See if can design similar to these but on a 2x1 tile.
So when you get chance teach me how to do :)

Working on that right now ;-)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GarryG Does Stations
PostPosted: 22 Jun 2017, 14:22 
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2015, 03:27
Posts: 1171
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Great :W .. will be able to have a look at it in morning when I wake from my beauty sleep :roll: .

The lift I did in the sprite is based on these lifts at a railway station called Cardiff. These lift goes from platform to footbridge. It where I go to catch my trains from. But I forgot to take pics of the front and door ways. Hope to do that next Tuesday.

I should really finish auzstations Part 2 but I get side tracked with other ideas.

I put some cars in the car parks in the process of coding them in before I go bed. Send you a copy when done.

Cheers


Attachments:
Lifts.png
Lifts.png [ 252.81 KiB | Viewed 2 times ]

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
Soot Happens.
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=179&t=811
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 8 of 23   [ 450 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 23  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules