It is currently 21 Oct 2018, 16:15

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 15 posts ]
Author Message
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 21:30 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 469
Location: The Netherlands
//Admin note;

This topic is split from the Official Downloads section, as it fits better in here...//


Nice work!

Only one small thing I find annoying (and that's in all types of foundations, not just this one, also the original game foundations), is that you are able to see some pixels sticking out on some of the edges, at the West-North-diagonal and the North-East-diagonal of a tile. It looks like they are some kind of walls or blocks. Not really a problem with groundtiles, because they shift when you place another tile next to it. But it is a problem when you place tiles that can be built on water next to them.

I don't know if they even have any sort of purpose at all, except preventing my virtual inhabitants from falling of a cliff. So maybe it's an idea to remove them all together?

Hope I explained it a bit, don't seem to be able to attach images here, so I also posted this on the TTD-forum with pics: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=59390&p=1005478#p1005478


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 21:39 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
I know what you mean. The foundations I use in my games doesn't have those "edges" included at all - for the very purpose you're describing - simply to avoid having some annoying glitches here and there when using, for instance, custom bridgeheads.

It could possibly be a good idea to include a .grf where these particular edges are removed. I'll look into it. It's a rather quick job after all... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 21:45 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 469
Location: The Netherlands
Cool! And indeed it's not a lot of work, just some small touches of blue here and there. ;-) Thnx in advance!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 22:27 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:10
Posts: 33
Location: Lancs, England
Hmmm, this isn't the best place to have this discussion. I was going to post a comment here but since I can't upload an image I've done it over on the TT Forums instead. But in short, I believe these lines do serve a purpose, and I would be very wary of removing them for the wrong reasons, i.e. a highly specialised purpose like the one mentioned here.

See the comment I posted here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 8#p1005488


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 22:30 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
I was perhaps thinking more in line with having a 2nd foundation.grf added to this download, where these particular edges are removed. And then a player can chose for him/herself which one to use...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Apr 2012, 23:34 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 469
Location: The Netherlands
PaulC has a very good point with not removing them. It may indeed cause problems with the visual effect of depth. At least, thnx to this grf, the effect is created a lot more subtle than with the original game foundations.

But if a second grf that you can use when you play very flat scenario's would appear, I would certainly use it :twisted:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2012, 03:04 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1672
Location: Hellas
Me too. PaulC: I 'd like to see a screenshot of that depth issue with those 'white fence' pixels removed. Yes you will lose most of the effect but not to the extend to get confused as the tile is a repeated pattern. So IMO the 'height steps' will be discern-able-at least for hardcore players. ;-)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2012, 03:53 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:10
Posts: 33
Location: Lancs, England
Well I'm not going to go to the trouble of removing those edges just to prove a point, not do I want to derail that topic any further by continuing that discussion. :P The effect would be more or less noticable depending on what graphics you use anyway, though I don't see what that would have to do with being a "hardcore player" or not - if it doesn't look right then it doesn't look right, period.

Still, if you guys feel you need an alternative set of foundations then by all means go for it! ;) But if it's just to resolve Quast65's issue with his dock graphics (and I genuinely don't see how this would benefit anyone else) then why not code them straight into that grf?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2012, 09:24 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
PaulC wrote:
I was going to post a comment here but since I can't upload an image I've done it over on the TT Forums instead.


:oops:

This place is rather new so I haven't got the hang of all features just yet. But I've changed so images can be posted also in here - seeing as there may be some inputs or comments as far as downloadable files concerns...

Anyway, here's an example of the current foundation I use myself;

Attachment:
INFRA004.png
INFRA004.png [ 7.99 KiB | Viewed 4452 times ]

As you can see the edges in the INFRA-version are removed, and this - in my opinion - has a positive side effect as far as my personal preferences concerns. PaulC also has a valid point which is shown by his post in the release thread over at TT-forums, but for the sake of giving people a choice of using a foundation without these edges, I'm going to release also an alternative version of the INFRA Foundation set.

Expect the addition to be available somewhere around Eastern... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2012, 12:19 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 15:17
Posts: 14
Why not use a parameter to let the player decide if he want the lines?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 03:12 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1672
Location: Hellas
IMO That's the best solution for now.
A much better solution would be to have new code in OTTD to deal with it. but I do not think developers will get into the trouble for it. There are more serious issues/bugs to take care of.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 15:13 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
PaulC wrote:
...
I'll not enter the "edge/no edge" edgy discussion. ;)
I have a technical question.
I am coding some objects for SAC.
Some of those objects will be able to have foundations.
Will those objects be able to benefit from your GRF?
Or do these foundations have to be coded into the code I'm coding for SAC?
If not, will your GRF have to loaded before before or after other GRFs in order for those other GRFs to benefit?

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 15:35 
Player
Player
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:55
Posts: 469
Location: The Netherlands
If you haven't drawn foundations (so a flat tile) and you place the tile on a slope, the game will put a foundation there itself. Depending on what foundation GRF you have loaded, that foundation will appear.

like this:
Attachment:
example04.png
example04.png [ 8.88 KiB | Viewed 4450 times ]


If you have a tile with foundations, designed to be placed on slopes, the graphics you have drawn will "overrule" the foundations. And it doesn't matter which grf is loaded first.

like this:
Attachment:
example05.png
example05.png [ 8.3 KiB | Viewed 4450 times ]


Last edited by Quast65 on 18 Apr 2012, 21:02, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 16:05 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:10
Posts: 33
Location: Lancs, England
wallyweb wrote:
I'll not enter the "edge/no edge" edgy discussion. ;)
I have a technical question.
I am coding some objects for SAC.
Some of those objects will be able to have foundations.
Will those objects be able to benefit from your GRF?
Or do these foundations have to be coded into the code I'm coding for SAC?
If not, will your GRF have to loaded before before or after other GRFs in order for those other GRFs to benefit?

I'm not entirely sure what you're asking, but these are just normal foundations so if you're coding normal objects that have no special requirements then you don't have anything to worry about.

If that doesn't help then you'll have to be more specific. ;)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012, 16:17 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
PaulC wrote:
... these are just normal foundations so if you're coding normal objects that have no special requirements then you don't have anything to worry about.
That's what I needed to know. :)
Thanks. :bowing:

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 15 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules