It is currently 21 Feb 2018, 21:01

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 6   [ 120 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: INFRA Stations...
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 00:16 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3025
Location: Sweden
Should have spent this day compiling sprite sheets for the upcoming release of INFRA Objects, but got stuck drawing a station instead... (sorry Wally... :oops: )...

This is still very much work in progress, but some inputs are always welcome - hence posting it here... :)

Attachment:
Image609.png
Image609.png [ 84.05 KiB | Viewed 47440 times ]

Not entirely happy with the roof yet, but the overall windows are done - and with those I'm satisfied... Still have some work to do with the side entrances, but that will have to wait til Wally gets what he needs... :twisted:

If anyone can code stations, this could be quickly released... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 00:42 
Artists Guild

Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 11:12
Posts: 226
Location: Staplehurst, UK
Are those platforms from the japan set?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 01:02 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1609
Location: Hellas
What kind of input? You said it all: Top of roof needs some texturing and sides more work.

Amazing peace of artwork! Thanks SAC. Wally ... can wait! :mrgreen:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 01:30 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3025
Location: Sweden
leanden wrote:
Are those platforms from the japan set?


Frankly, I have no idea! I've been using these playforms for ages, although as with everything else I've put my own touch to them. But the origin, beats me... Even so, they're not part of this station. :)

athanasios wrote:
Top of roof needs some texturing and sides more work.


Yep, exactly! I think I'll redraw the sides competely...

athanasios wrote:
Wally ... can wait! :mrgreen:


:mrgreen: Hehehe... I think people wants to get their hands on the first official release of INFRA, and that'll happen once Wally is done coding - and me compiling the rest of the NewObjects sprite sheets... :P

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 17:23 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 15:17
Posts: 14
Nice, Looks really good. But, are steel colors not better. This looks so wood or brick. Maybe dark green, most real station halls are also green.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 20:22 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1560
Location: Canada
SAC wrote:
(sorry Wally... :oops: )...
/me gets back to his WoW game. :P
Quote:
... but that will have to wait til Wally gets what he needs... :twisted:
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ 8-)
athanasios wrote:
Wally ... can wait! :mrgreen:
Care to join me in a game of WoW while we wait? :fuck:
jor[D]1 wrote:
This looks so wood ...
Interesting ... Sounds Sweedish. ;)
Laminated wood arches are possible ... SAC could be on to something here.


Attachments:
wooden-frame--structure.jpg
wooden-frame--structure.jpg [ 59.68 KiB | Viewed 47575 times ]

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 20:59 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 15:17
Posts: 14
wallyweb wrote:
jor[D]1 wrote:
This looks so wood ...
Interesting ... Sounds Sweedish. ;)
Laminated wood arches are possible ... SAC could be on to something here.


Yes it is possible, but a station hall is much larger than your example. And most stations use Iron.

Half way this page is a nice H0 example of what I mean.
http://www.miniatur-wunderland.de/anlag ... -94-kw-33/

Search Google Pictures For: H0 bahnhofshalle Will give some nice results with station halls Which look very much like this one.

Ps. Also found this picture:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/Maerklin-89200-A ... 0764264420
Would be A VERY special station if this size is even possible in TTD.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 22:42 
Artists Guild

Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 11:12
Posts: 226
Location: Staplehurst, UK
What realm are you on wally?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2012, 22:50 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1560
Location: Canada
jor[D]1 wrote:
Ps. Also found this picture:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/Maerklin-89200-A ... 0764264420
Would be A VERY special station if this size is even possible in TTD.
Actually it is. Look at Toronto Union Station in the US Station Set. It is quite large. When you get to the page, click on Download on the left. It will take you to a page where you will find the readme file.

EDIT to add:
leanden wrote:
What realm are you on wally?
I am Canadian which is no claim to sanity. We exist only to the extent allowed by our vivid imaginations. ;)
We play hockey too. :cucko:

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2012, 01:16 
Artists Guild

Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 11:12
Posts: 226
Location: Staplehurst, UK
I meant what realm (server) on WoW.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2012, 02:45 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1609
Location: Hellas
WoW? No thanks, I play WoG!!!
[G stands for little George.]
So no time left over for WoW. :-(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2012, 06:41 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1560
Location: Canada
leanden wrote:
I meant what realm (server) on WoW.
OH! heh! :oops:
Actually I don't play WoW. I just tell that to SAC whenever I am out playing with my vintage 1986 Pontiac Fiero GT instead of coding her NewObjects. :lol:

athanasios wrote:
WoW? No thanks, I play WoG!!!
[G stands for little George.]
So no time left over for WoW. :-(
The good thing about that is it's great when you are winning at WoG, and when you are losing, it's still pretty good. :mrgreen:

And now if you will all excuse me, I see that SAC has just sent me another supply of sprites.

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2012, 06:44 
Artists Guild

Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 11:12
Posts: 226
Location: Staplehurst, UK
SAC is a girl!?!?!

/nerdface


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2012, 03:15 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1609
Location: Hellas
;-)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2012, 23:47 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 00:47
Posts: 121
SAC wrote:
Should have spent this day compiling sprite sheets for the upcoming release of INFRA Objects, but got stuck drawing a station instead... (sorry Wally... :oops: )...

This is still very much work in progress, but some inputs are always welcome - hence posting it here... :)

Attachment:
INFRA004.png

Not entirely happy with the roof yet, but the overall windows are done - and with those I'm satisfied... Still have some work to do with the side entrances, but that will have to wait til Wally gets what he needs... :twisted:

If anyone can code stations, this could be quickly released... :)


first note i have it looks similar to the Dutch trainset amsterdam roofs, but these are more brownish topping instead of the green/black one ive seen you use before in some shots as well....

i do think the side-walls can use a bit more detailing or just a different feeling, at the moment for me they feel out of place with the rest of the structure. also the platforms might like a bit of brown incorperated in them (some random light brown tile pattern as chips?) and i think the roof either needs more detail or a bit less. maybe shade the glass a bit more?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2012, 14:13 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3025
Location: Sweden
Sorry for the late reply, but these last couple of days I've been compiling sprites for the first INFRA release ever, and yesterday handing the last one of them over for the coding process to start. :P

Anyway, as for the station. It's meant to be an older station building in iron, painted brown with some wooden details on the top. It's not un-realistic, simply google... :)

The sidings however are being worked on right now, and on top of that I have some more station tiles in the works. Well, in all honesty I'm also working on some bridges as well... :lol: Difficult to stay focus on one task at a time...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2012, 17:48 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 00:47
Posts: 121
SAC wrote:
Sorry for the late reply, but these last couple of days I've been compiling sprites for the first INFRA release ever, and yesterday handing the last one of them over for the coding process to start. :P

Anyway, as for the station. It's meant to be an older station building in iron, painted brown with some wooden details on the top. It's not un-realistic, simply google... :)

The sidings however are being worked on right now, and on top of that I have some more station tiles in the works. Well, in all honesty I'm also working on some bridges as well... :lol: Difficult to stay focus on one task at a time...



try st pancras station (kings cross) thats epic building, but extremely challenging to make i recon


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2012, 04:39 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1609
Location: Hellas
:o That's a project of itself! It needs an expert artist to work for a year or even more. Well SAC is an expert but I do not think she has all that time available. And all those minute details (amazing ornaments!) that beg for extra zoom. In normal zoom it is impossible to implement them.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2012, 09:30 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3025
Location: Sweden
Actually, drawing something like that isn't that much of an ordeal. And it certainly wouldn't require a whole year to complete. :P Besides, not everything can be drawn into the scale of TTDLX, keeping lots of details from an original building structure, but it's far from an impossible project...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2012, 20:42 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 00:47
Posts: 121
SAC wrote:
Actually, drawing something like that isn't that much of an ordeal. And it certainly wouldn't require a whole year to complete. :P Besides, not everything can be drawn into the scale of TTDLX, keeping lots of details from an original building structure, but it's far from an impossible project...



get proper drawing plans, get a 3d modeling program, and get about 6 months of your life wasted on it....



in other news: back to wow for me:) i couldnt get my old savegame from tayvan to work as i wanted, so ill have to start a new game "soon" ish, im just gonna have to grab some cool patches & newgrfs for ottd


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 6   [ 120 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules