It is currently 26 Jun 2017, 07:15

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 36 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: INFRA Airports...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 00:21 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3006
Location: Sweden
With several big projects on the desk I took the time to finish an update of Zimmlocks previous airport from his TTRS3-set. It's a more modern - or different if you wish - version of the airport, and while I decided to keep some of the original shapes, I have at least made some differences to them. The aircrafts are from the AV8, but I have given them a new design, sort of presenting the airway company of Innovatia, Innova Air... :P

Additionally I also removed the flashing lights on the runways, as I find them annoying. Instead I have replaced them with some bright yellow dots, which in game works just the same - or even better... :twisted:

Attachment:
INFRA001.png
INFRA001.png [ 212.52 KiB | Viewed 6443 times ]

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 01:58 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1534
Location: Hellas
36 x 2 or 26 and tree hiding it? ;-)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 03:12 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3006
Location: Sweden
:mrgreen: 36! Just one of the runway extensions... Don't want to waste too many additional objects on such things... :twisted:

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 03:37 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1534
Location: Hellas
I wonder why there exists such a low limit for objects. Wally can you provide some insight?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 05:08 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1484
Location: Canada
athanasios wrote:
I wonder why there exists such a low limit for objects. Wally can you provide some insight?
I think that the 255 limit was set to conserve memory (I may be wrong) but there is a workaround. ;)
The newobject menu has 3 view options: 1, 2 and 4.
The 2 and 4 view options allow for 2 or 4 object images.
This was to allow for alternate views (n-s and e-w, etc.) of the same object, however, one does not have to use the same object for the alternate view.
The 2 view and 4 view options each count as only one object.
So what this means is that if your newobject GRFs consist only of the 4 view options, you can extend the 255 limit to 4 x 255 = 1020. 8-)
Note that this can only be done when coding the GRF, but if you are designing some newobjects, instruct your coder to only use the 4 view option.

On a related note, I experimented and found that 4096 objects can be placed on your map.

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 07:49 
Artists Guild

Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 11:12
Posts: 225
Location: Staplehurst, UK
I had an idea as part of my ongoing UK project, to create new airports which reflect the UK airports while still keeping to the current available state machines.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 09:53 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3006
Location: Sweden
wallyweb wrote:
On a related note, I experimented and found that 4096 objects can be placed on your map.


Whos map? Mine or Athanosios? :twisted:

And by objects I assume you mean everything from NewObjects to town sets and the sort?

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 16:58 
Artists Guild

Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 11:12
Posts: 225
Location: Staplehurst, UK
Afaik, OTTD has no object limit, you could fill every tile with new objects if you wished.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2012, 19:14 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3006
Location: Sweden
leanden wrote:
Afaik, OTTD has no object limit, you could fill every tile with new objects if you wished.


Yeah, and that's another very big advantage to say the least! Getting more and more confused here... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 00:56 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 00:47
Posts: 121
SAC wrote:
leanden wrote:
Afaik, OTTD has no object limit, you could fill every tile with new objects if you wished.


Yeah, and that's another very big advantage to say the least! Getting more and more confused here... :)


the only setback of OTTD for you SAC is the lack of Custom BridgeHead Support in any patch or trunk, rest can usually be found in patches as well as you could for TTDP


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 00:59 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1484
Location: Canada
SAC wrote:
wallyweb wrote:
On a related note, I experimented and found that 4096 objects can be placed on your map.


Whos map? Mine or Athanosios? :twisted:
Athanasios ... He has a family to entertain. :mrgreen:

Quote:
And by objects I assume you mean everything from NewObjects to town sets and the sort?
Well I mean NewObjects, but apparently sometimes TTDX treats items found in other types of GRFs as objecs and these might count against the total.

leanden wrote:
Afaik, OTTD has no object limit, you could fill every tile with new objects if you wished.
This would be excellent. :bowing: Perhaps you could open the largest OTTD map possible and give it a test. ;)

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 01:02 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3006
Location: Sweden
wallyweb wrote:
leanden wrote:
Afaik, OTTD has no object limit, you could fill every tile with new objects if you wished.
This would be excellent. :bowing: Perhaps you could open the largest OTTD map possible and give it a test. ;)


Excellent idea Wally! What are you waiting for Leanden? A Leanden Edition perhaps... :P

ZxBiohazardZx wrote:
the only setback of OTTD for you SAC is the lack of Custom BridgeHead Support in any patch or trunk, rest can usually be found in patches as well as you could for TTDP


But I believe there's a CBH patch for OTTD... ;)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 02:58 
Artists Guild

Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 11:12
Posts: 225
Location: Staplehurst, UK
Ive got a 2048x2048 map open atm which has considerably more than 255 objects placed. Using Dutch Road Furniture with hardshoulders and middle gangways stretching the full length of the map.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 03:12 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1484
Location: Canada
leanden wrote:
Ive got a 2048x2048 map open atm which has considerably more than 255 objects placed. Using Dutch Road Furniture with hardshoulders and middle gangways stretching the full length of the map.
Ah ... but 255 is not the limit to how much can be placed on the TTDP map (4096). It is the limit to how many newobjects can be coded for placement. ;)

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 03:37 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1534
Location: Hellas
wallyweb wrote:
Athanasios ... He has a family to entertain. :mrgreen:


You got it right!

Come and see our house. Little George's hobby is to place more than 256x4 objects on the floor daily!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 09:40 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 10:10
Posts: 213
I see that you have redone two of the airports. Have you re-done the rest of them?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 09:48 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3006
Location: Sweden
You mean the airports in Innovatia? If so, no. This is just a shot taken from that game to show the changes on Zimmlocks original airport designs. Unless of course I got it wrong and you mean the airports available also when using OTTD? :?:

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 10:37 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 10:10
Posts: 213
SAC wrote:
You mean the airports in Innovatia? If so, no. This is just a shot taken from that game to show the chnages on Zimmlocks original airport designs. Unless of course I got it wrong and you mean the airports available also when using OTTD? :?:


I guess both. I realize the two airports that I've seen were modified versions of Zimlock's airports, I didn't know if that was just lovely NewObject eyecandy or if you coded them into a NewGRF airport replacement.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: INFRA by SAC...
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2012, 10:59 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3006
Location: Sweden
kamnet wrote:
I guess both. I realize the two airports that I've seen were modified versions of Zimlock's airports, I didn't know if that was just lovely NewObject eyecandy or if you coded them into a NewGRF airport replacement.


:)

Nope, they haven't been coded yet, but as I have full permission to use Zimmlocks stuff, it'll be part of future releases of INFRA. :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2012, 04:47 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 21:10
Posts: 33
Location: Lancs, England
I'd be interested to see how your airport sprites look in OTTD. Zimmlock's original sprites don't work at all well with OTTD's extra airports...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 36 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules