It is currently 01 Dec 2021, 14:08

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 13 posts ]
Author Message
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2012, 14:00 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 14:09
Posts: 46
something i have wondered many a time is weather or not TTD would be possible using (vaguely) realistic pricing, i could see it as an interesting concept I.E start very very early (1700's) as a company with horse and carts and work up to shipping and rail (which shouldn't be too hard a game) modern iterations could be interesting though, start as a minibus firm before working up to getting buses/coaches and slowly progress to rail.

obviously this would have to happen in a very much slowed down game (drastically increase the length of a year) but i could see it being quite fun certainly there would be a lot of effort involved with making the right financial decisions so you don't fail in the first few years (especially starting with 100,000)

obviously this is purely hypothetical (and not a suggestion towards openttd) but my own musings certainly though i could see it being quite fun you would definitely have to play the subsidies a lot more than typically occurs.

thoughts??

_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2012, 23:09 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3033
Location: Sweden
This is something I've been thinking about myself. It would be more realistic if years passed by much much slower, and you had to better plan everything to stay on the "market"! Absolutely!

I have always wondered why the years passes by so quickly, and now a days I pay no attention to years at all...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2012, 23:26 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1880
Location: Canada
I think that the years passing quickly was a concious decision so that a game would not seem to go on forever thus causing the players to eventually become bored and quit.

Definitely, for the scenario creator, a slower time flow would be more intesting. It would be nice if that flow could be adjusted by the player(s). This would be an interesting OTTD patch

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2012, 23:31 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 22:27
Posts: 6
wallyweb wrote:
This would be an interesting OTTD patch


This has been the subject of many successful, OTTD patches over the years, one of which is in Chill's patchpack I believe. A major problem, as I understand it, is that interest rates skyrocket and it eventually becomes impossible to turn a profit. But that is part of the larger problem that the entire game is financially exceptionally poorly balanced. However, solving that appears to be a full time job, equivalent to actually repricing the real world. But it's fun to dream about!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2012, 23:33 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1880
Location: Canada
Pingaware wrote:
... is that interest rates skyrocket ...
Can I be the banker and own the banks? :lol:

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 01:01 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 14:09
Posts: 46
i typically find that the game runs much too fast, in never play with interest on though due to it being pretty bugged anyway.

_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 02:47 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1770
Location: Hellas
From settings you can enable built on pause. Not ideal solution but better than nothing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 16:52 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 14:09
Posts: 46
athanasios wrote:
From settings you can enable built on pause. Not ideal solution but better than nothing.


yeah i do, what frustrates me though is when trains will take over a year to do a journey which isn't too far at all to travel.

i find that i get bored because the years go so fast.

_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 19:15 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 00:47
Posts: 121
look for teh daylenght patches, there are quite a few that slow the game down, by increasing the day-lenghts


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 22:17 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 24 Apr 2012, 23:51
Posts: 144
Location: United Kindom
i tried to do this with horse and starting from 1850 vut for some reason the horses are proper slow the max speed says 20mph and they run at 1 mph and i cant work out why and its the same with all grf's too

i asked on ttd forum years back about this and i got ONE answer, my post has vanished but here is the same answer.

"it would be possible to change how many game cycles that needs to pass before the new day event, but it would make some game balance issues because the vehicles transports the goods twice as fast and produce more money that way, but cost are based on days (yearly running cost)

besides I don't think this is the most important thing to implement"


Last edited by boohey on 29 Apr 2012, 22:22, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 22:20 
Lurker
Lurker

Joined: 03 Mar 2012, 12:17
Posts: 64
Location: Oldham, Lancs
boohey wrote:
i tried to do this with horse and starting from 1850 vut for some reason the horses are proper slow the max speed says 20mph and they run at 1 mph and i cant work out why and its the same with all grf's too

It is because you have Realistic Acceleration on with it. You need to change the RV Acceleration to Original.

_________________
Jessica x


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 22:24 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 24 Apr 2012, 23:51
Posts: 144
Location: United Kindom
ive got it on original but if i change it to realistic nothing moves, trians will run until a hill and stop so i never use realistic cos of that lol

ill have a fiddle with the slope settings and that


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 Apr 2012, 00:58 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 14:09
Posts: 46
A321Pilot wrote:
boohey wrote:
i tried to do this with horse and starting from 1850 vut for some reason the horses are proper slow the max speed says 20mph and they run at 1 mph and i cant work out why and its the same with all grf's too

It is because you have Realistic Acceleration on with it. You need to change the RV Acceleration to Original.


boohey wrote:
ive got it on original but if i change it to realistic nothing moves, trians will run until a hill and stop so i never use realistic cos of that lol

ill have a fiddle with the slope settings and that


for some reason it seems that the horsepower was set up very strangely for the generic road vehicles set.

_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 13 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules