It is currently 24 Oct 2018, 00:20

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 6 of 8   [ 143 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 24 Nov 2015, 02:33 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
This is a new one to me. Which game are you using (OpenTTD, New Map Features or tracerestrict) ?

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Nov 2015, 11:08 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
I did a fresh install using the latest OpenTTD-REBASED-r27339-g478eec70-Win32... It says here at the near bottom that only 59 newgrfs can be added to a new game...

Still, in my previous experiment with OpenTTD I'm pretty sure I added at least 63 newgrf's... :?

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Nov 2015, 13:16 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
That is cirdan's New Map Features. Good. 8-)
Thanks for that link. :W I was not aware of that limit, but then I never got close to it in my games. I doubt that the OTTD devs ever imagined that anybody would ever reach it. Can you PM to me a list of the GRF's that you have used?

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Nov 2015, 14:36 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
Actually, you have the list inside the openttd.cfg that I attached in my previous post... look at the line; [preset-Innovatia 2nd] at the near end... :P

A solution that would give me some new slots is to simply combine my three latest eye candy grf's;

53541101|8D9C07CEC0609EE754B7040C31738671|infra_streets1x1_p1.grf
53541119|FCF5B2E1406BC374C113C2D2E5914281|infra_streets1x1_p2.grf
53541129|9275A13BC69674898866D93B3854FF56|infra_streets1x1_p3.grf =

Combined into INFRA Streets1x1.gr

53441101|3E2397532428AB013862B22EDBB396E5|infra_green1x1_p1.grf
53441119|4201D77058BC82C4F2DC0294AFBA6DC3|infra_green1x1_p2.grf
53441129|9CF044DD9054F863295D5AA8A1671999|infra_green1x1_p3.grf =

Combined into INFRA Green1x1.grf

53531101|468BC5948EDE83D73FF7C821A19983F8|infra_public1x1_p1.grf
53531119|0CF00C874FE13FF77523DFAC5134415C|infra_public1x1_p2.grf =

Combined into INFRA Public1x1.grf

535A1101|A3BCCCCD580262CBB301C9C4E595B21F|infra_mtime1x1_p1.grf
535A1119|D23A77E179FDBA790D3072382CEB603C|infra_mtime1x1_p2.grf
535A1129|9CD3E858C0BE056C07CCBB31CC965E87|infra_mtime1x1_p3.grf =

Combined into INFRA Mtime1x1.grf

This would reduce the numer of 11 .grf's down to 4 .grf's, freeing up 7 slots altogether...

Still, I know you're busy with so many other things right now, but it's something that could be added to your to-do-list perhaps... :oops:

Not sure how much work is involved to add P2 and P3 into P1 and simply extend it...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2015, 09:26 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1713
Location: Canada
Yes, it will probably be at least a couple of weeks before I am able to start in on these.
Cobining them is very possible.
I would suggest looking at your EC/ec grfs too to see if any of them can be combined into the infra_ groups.
You can organize all this stuff whlle waiting for me to have some openings in my schedule. ;)
Lots of work for you, but now is the time to do it.
Do you want to return to real life yet? :twisted:
:mrgreen:

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2015, 11:52 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
Ah splendid my dear friend... I'm working til December 15th and then I'll take my usual holiday weeks away from work, giving me plenty of time to sort all that out... :)

wallyweb wrote:
Do you want to return to real life yet? :twisted:
:mrgreen:


One would imagine, but no... having waaayyy to much fun now, and like I said, I'm truly eager to start Innovatia 2nd generation... :mrgreen:

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2015, 01:58 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
Realized that Zimmlock's airport in TTRS3 doesn't work too well in OpenTTD with its different layouts, and the only way to solve it was to simply remake some of the stuff to work - or at least for the time being... I need to make some new tiles altogether and at least replace the "office building" as it's based on a model I found... but I'll get there...

Attachment:
ImageX654.png
ImageX654.png [ 133.9 KiB | Viewed 3080 times ]


Learned from Athanasios today that Vetteman06 over at TT-forums has made his own airport patch, and while I use Cirdan's NMF-patch for my OpenTTD game, I'm unable to use also Vetteman06's... still, in my opinion an airport patch becomes truly useful the day it's possible for a player to decide about the layout himself/herself, but with that said, it's an interesting patch nevertheless... perhaps something for Cirdan to add to his "to-do-list"... :P

Anyway, moving further with my projects... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2015, 04:41 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1673
Location: Hellas
Mind that those tall cypresses and flags are a big NO for airport runways! Plus the TTD width of the runway vs the width of the airplane sprites-length is another sad story.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2015, 09:29 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
This is because I'm using TTDP's base graphics which originally has the antenna - but since it's completely redrawn in my game there's this park tile instead... :P Anyway, considering the "silly" layout of these OTTD airports I'm not entirely sure a big ugly antenna works too well either...

As for the runway lengths, totally agree... but I have my own sets of airport graphics to add - at least for the visual appearance... :mrgreen:

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 Nov 2015, 06:25 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1673
Location: Hellas
That antenna is a monstrosity.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 Nov 2015, 11:44 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
It sure is... :P

And speaking of graphics issues, also noticed that oil cisterns aren't drawn in a correct way, see examples below and compare with the ones from the INFRA project and you'll see the problem;
Attachment:
ImageX655.png
ImageX655.png [ 13.75 KiB | Viewed 3051 times ]

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 01 Dec 2015, 04:38 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1673
Location: Hellas
All of of them are wrong: Height should be ~1/2 of width.
ISR: 16/38
DWE: 17/38
>>>>: 19/38 ;)
INFRA: 21/38
Your choice might be out of personal taste (aka to minimize the distortion-but it is too much-IMO 20/38 is enough), but ISR and DWE are completely unacceptable.

BTW: The shell logo at that position looks flat. Here is a quick try to explain what I mean (OK, in my haste I went 1 pixel up):


Attachments:
tank_logo.png
tank_logo.png [ 2.04 KiB | Viewed 3045 times ]
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Dec 2015, 21:00 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
athanasios wrote:
Your choice might be out of personal taste (aka to minimize the distortion-but it is too much-IMO 20/38 is enough), but ISR and DWE are completely unacceptable.


You're right there, I've changed mine to 20/38... :)

Continuing my OpenTTD introduction and one of the biggest tasks have been to prepare all the ECS.grf's available, like removing the snow for when - and if - a snowline is introduced in OpenTTD temperate climate, which in my case means rocks... and while I use the TTDPatch version of base sets in my OpenTTD-game, George's ECS.grf's are updated to version 1.2 - and for OpenTTD only, meaning I can't use the ones I have in my TTDP-game...

Anyway, while preparing I also I figured I should do something about some of the ECS-graphics included that has always bothered me, the printing works for instance;
Attachment:
ImageX656.png
ImageX656.png [ 59.5 KiB | Viewed 3031 times ]


I'm a bit unsure whether or not I should get rid of the front building or if I should let it stay - even though it's updated... :?

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Dec 2015, 23:07 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
...and gave the oil refinery a polishing;
Attachment:
ImageX657.png
ImageX657.png [ 55.64 KiB | Viewed 3027 times ]

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Dec 2015, 23:35 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
...and while at it, a new mine;
Attachment:
ImageX658.png
ImageX658.png [ 56.5 KiB | Viewed 3023 times ]

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Dec 2015, 05:38 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1673
Location: Hellas
Cool work! :W
The front building: Nice artwork but the skinning needs tweaking. It always bothered me. So don't drop it-fix it!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Dec 2015, 07:56 
Browser
Browser
User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 10:10
Posts: 229
OpenTTD itself raised the NewGRF limit in either 1.4.0 or 1.5.0. It's possible that Cirdan's fork has not yet updated this. It should be trivial to edit the source code and recompile. While Muzzly's original patch probably won't work, you can still read it to find which files and lines to edit.

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=894743#p894743


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Dec 2015, 10:03 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
athanasios wrote:
Cool work! :W
The front building: Nice artwork but the skinning needs tweaking. It always bothered me. So don't drop it-fix it!


I assume you're talking about the Printing Work right? And you do realize that the second building displayed, the white one, is a replacement for the original Printing Works in ECS? :P Or do you mean that my new graphics needs more work?

kamnet wrote:
OpenTTD itself raised the NewGRF limit in either 1.4.0 or 1.5.0. It's possible that Cirdan's fork has not yet updated this. It should be trivial to edit the source code and recompile. While Muzzly's original patch probably won't work, you can still read it to find which files and lines to edit.

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=894743#p894743


Interesting Kamnet - and thanks... I'll at least bring it up with Cirdan... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Dec 2015, 11:17 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 01 May 2012, 11:38
Posts: 580
Impressive work as usual :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape
Site Admin & Developer


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Dec 2015, 13:02 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3030
Location: Sweden
Thank you... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 6 of 8   [ 143 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules