It is currently 23 Jul 2018, 00:31

WELCOME TO SIMUSCAPE!


Please Sign in or Register to enable all features, remove restrictions and gain additional access!
For information on how to bypass the CAPTCHA or to contact Team Simuscape, Continue Here!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 8   [ 143 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2013, 16:48 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3027
Location: Sweden
While most things works the same in TTDP and OTTD, there are some differences I have discovered, and I will use this topic to address them - and hopefully receive answers... :P

First question;

Isn't it possible to use waypoints for road vehicles in OTTD as in TTDP? If it is I cannot figure out how to connect a "busstop" to a railroad waypoint for this purpose?

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2013, 18:18 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 08:31
Posts: 68
Location: Tampere, Finland
"go via" option in order setting window is just for you. Within this feature you can use any bus/truck stop as a RV waypoint. Option can be founded on the same dropdown menu as "nonstop".

(My OpenTTD is in Finnish and not sure about English terms.)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2013, 20:41 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3027
Location: Sweden
Thanks! Works a bit differently in OTTD... :P

Another question;

As it seems I can't use snowheights in OTTD temperate climate, something which I - in TTDP - has replaced with rocks instead. The option I have is to simply replace the arctic sprites in arctic climate with my TTDP temperate sprites and get access to snowheights... However, when setting the snowline it doesn't seem to work... the snow appears almost at the lower tiles regardless of my setting, (e.g. 2 or 13)... What gives? :?:

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2013, 20:48 
Lurker
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 08:31
Posts: 68
Location: Tampere, Finland
Do you have tried without any GRF-files?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2013, 21:16 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3027
Location: Sweden
Sure, without any .grf's added it works fine... but that doesn't help much... :P

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2013, 21:51 
Lurker
Lurker

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 23:12
Posts: 72
Snowline numbers are weird. I think they have to be multiples of 8? http://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/Ac ... e_.2810.29

Also, the number for the snow line setting is kind of unintuitive: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=59641


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2013, 22:05 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3027
Location: Sweden
Actually, I managed to solve it by adding the "snow line mod" and set both snowlines, (January and July) to the same value - which prevents the game from changing the snowline during the course of every new month... It also turns out I had to change a parameter on ECS Towns for the snowline not to be affected... :P

A bit of trial and error really... But with this ability I will use the arctic climate instead of the temperate and simply replace the arctic sprites with my TTDP-sprites instead - for the purpose of having rocky mountains with dirt roads and specific tunnels... :P

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2013, 00:02 
Player
Player

Joined: 12 Mar 2012, 02:39
Posts: 469
SAC wrote:
As it seems I can't use snowheights in OTTD temperate climate, ...
Whatever you do, there is no snow in a temperate game. No setting or GRF will help here. If a GRF says, it'll give you snow in temperate, it will not work in OpenTTD, only in TTDP.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2013, 00:22 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3027
Location: Sweden
...which is why I'll use the arctic climate in OTTD instead rather then the temperate one. By replacing the arctic sprites with my TTDP-sprites, (grass and rocks), I can achieve the same appearance I'm used to in TTDP with rocky mountains, dirt roads, and rock covered tunnels... :) I'll post a screenie once I have replaced the graphics... :twisted:

The only drawback so far - that I've found - is that I'm not able to use MB's DBXL-set... but on the other hand I'm able to use many more .grf's - and especially eye candy as in station tiles - than I could ever use in TTDP, so I can finally add loads of stuff I had to put on hold earlier... :P

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2013, 12:55 
Artists Guild Team

Joined: 20 Apr 2012, 16:05
Posts: 92
SAC wrote:
The only drawback so far - that I've found - is that I'm not able to use MB's DBXL-set...
You can. Just load a NewGRF (can be empty) that has the ID 6D 62 07 00 - the same as his "Alpine Climate" NewGRF - together with it, and it won't deactivate itself.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2013, 19:39 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3027
Location: Sweden
Oh okey... I'll look into it once I get there... I have finally managed to get all settings correct and I couldn't use as many .grf's as I first figured, but on the other hand I'm able to remove a lot of the ones I used in TTDP as those graphics are already part of OTTD... :P

The time consuming part ahead is to complete the sorting of eye candy and to rework the base graphics in OTTD so I can finally start the game and try out the new Innovatia... and I have found some side effects that will wotk to my advantage... this should be fun... :mrgreen:

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2013, 20:41 
Artists Guild Team

Joined: 20 Apr 2012, 16:05
Posts: 92
SAC wrote:
I'll look into it once I get there...
I've uploaded a NewGRF that does the trick to BaNaNas already ;)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2013, 03:33 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3027
Location: Sweden
Really? I'll check it out first thing tomorrow... :)

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2013, 06:45 
Player
Player

Joined: 12 Mar 2012, 02:39
Posts: 469
oberhuemer wrote:
... Just load a NewGRF (can be empty) that has the ID 6D 62 07 00 - the same as his "Alpine Climate" NewGRF - together with it, and it won't deactivate itself.
What a truly braindead idea. You never ever create fake GRFs using a GRFID from other existing GRFs; i.e. in this case letting DBSetXL know that the Alpine Climate has been loaded, but in fact it has not been activated.

Then, he even goes an uploads that stupidity onto the Content Downloader. I'm wondering what Michael Blunck thinks about that ...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2013, 08:10 
Lurker
Lurker

Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 23:12
Posts: 72
Well, if DBsetXL disables itself unless a grf with a certain ID (alpine climate, apparently) is loaded, and you really want to play with the DBsetXL your options are either to:

1) Actually load the appropriate grf (alpine climate, it seems)

2) Edit the DBsetXL grf to disable that check

3) Edit the OTTD source code to disable that check

4) Make a fake grf with the same ID

If for some reason you can't/won't do option 1), well, option 4) seems the next easiest.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2013, 11:12 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1636
Location: Canada
DB Set XL was last updated in May 2005.
AlpineClimate was last updated in May 2006.

AlpineClimate Read Me file wrote:
the DB Set XL v.0.82 is fully compatible with the AlpineClimate.


SAC wrote:
The only drawback so far - that I've found - is that I'm not able to use MB's DBXL-set...
Why not? Are you getting an error message?

I just tested them and they both loaded together satisfactorily.

Never mind ... I just realized that SAC does not want to use the AlpineClimate set.

With that thought, the Alpine Set GRFID spoof should not be used unless it includes a specific permission from Michael Blunck. Otherwise, any modification would be in direct conflict with his copyright.

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Last edited by wallyweb on 25 Mar 2013, 12:04, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2013, 11:38 
Simuscape Admin
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 09:25
Posts: 3027
Location: Sweden
When I inserted them they were both disabled... But I'll probably go for AI's Swedish set altogether...

_________________
Image

Simuscape - A world of its own;
SimuTalk | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA - Chose Your Destination;
INFRA Projects | INFRA Downloads


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2013, 12:08 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1636
Location: Canada
SAC wrote:
When I inserted them they were both disabled...
I edited my post. :)

Quote:
But I'll probably go for AI's Swedish set altogether...
Which would be more in line with your Swedish theme. 8-)

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Mar 2013, 05:01 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 00:55
Posts: 1638
Location: Hellas
wallyweb wrote:
... the Alpine Set GRFID spoof should not be used unless it includes a specific permission from Michael Blunck. Otherwise, any modification would be in direct conflict with his copyright.

:?: How so? You are using a fake grf with same ID, not a modified © MB © GRF. If this a copyright conflict then TTDPatch is also a copyright conflict.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Mar 2013, 05:34 
Master Mentor
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 22:45
Posts: 1636
Location: Canada
athanasios wrote:
wallyweb wrote:
... the Alpine Set GRFID spoof should not be used unless it includes a specific permission from Michael Blunck. Otherwise, any modification would be in direct conflict with his copyright.

:?: How so? You are using a fake grf with same ID, not a modified © MB © GRF. If this a copyright conflict then TTDPatch is also a copyright conflict.
You got it. ;) Worse yet, TTDPatch is GPL.

It can be argued that because the GRF ID is unique to the Alpine Set, it could be considered an intrinsic part of that file.

_________________
Visit SimuSchool - Tutorials, Questions and Answers
TTDPatch Nightlies Downloads are back
Thrive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 8   [ 143 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  


Status SimuscapeTerms of UseAbout Simuscape

Design by SAC © 2012-2015, Sweden • Powered by phpBB • Based on twilightBB by Daniel St. Jules